What’s Happening Today!

Photo Challenge: Creative and Unusual Framing Devices

Today we will be begin working on our new Photo Challenge; Unusual Framing Devices. This challenge is unique because it will expand on what you have already learned in photography class (Rule of Thirds, POV, and Leading Line). You will have the opportunity to widen your photographic knowledge base with this new assignment while continuing to explore more fully the visual compositional devices you have learned about already. You will start to see your confidence grow as you continue your practice work using the DSLR camera. You will also start to see your visual accuteness expand and your unique eye begin to devleop.

It’s all about seeing the world around you in your own unique way!

To begin:

1. Please spend 10 minutes reflecting and writing a short description about how you plan to create Unusual Framing Device photograph for this week’s photo challenge. To help you, use what you have learned so far in class as a guide as you reflect.

Use Word on your computer and then copy and past your description at the reply link to today’s blog post. 

Additionally:

2. In groups of 4 you will present, listen, and brainstorm as you come to a better understanding individually about how you will approach and start this week’s new photo challenge.

3. As a class let’s talk about some of your great brainstorming ideas!

46 thoughts on “What’s Happening Today!

  1. 3 Keirsten Craig

    I plan on creating this week’s assignment of Unusual Framing Devices by taking a picture with something in particular being the main focus then adding some sort of frame that focuses on that, or even a frame that is random or unusual for that type of photo.

    Like

    Reply
  2. 3 Monica Gaudette

    Unusual framing device thoughts:
    Keep your eyes open!!!! Look for an object that could look good framed. Think of how to frame it (ex. body parts, other objects nearby). Use all the things we learned this semester (thirds, point of view, and leading lines). And just be creative.

    Like

    Reply
  3. hannahneff2

    3 Hannah Neff
    I plan to pick a random area that makes a person stand out. To focus on the object that brings out unusual framing and creativeness. Using rule of thirds that showed me how to focus on the certain object could help me find a good picture for this assignment. Using what we learned in class the past couple weeks could help me creatively and show the right kind of unusual framing.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Period 3 Taytum Prater

    I’ve found that my best photos just come to me, I don’t plan them. I have some idea of what I could use as a guide. First off find an unusual thing to look though that could frame something like glasses or anything that I can find. Then find a main subject something that doesn’t really belong with the frame that contrasts and works. I just can’t tell you either of things yet because I won’t know until the moment comes.

    Like

    Reply
  5. 3_Dakota Hoffman

    I don’t know how I plan to do it. I’m going to have to walk around the campus a little bit and look for something unique.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Nate Powell

    This week to accomplish the creative piece I plan to observe other ideas and use that for inspiration to create something that’s me.

    Like

    Reply
  7. 3 Brooke Staley

    I plan on finding objects in nature to help me make a frame, whether its with something like a tree, or a door frame. And i want to be creative and unique. I will try to use rule of thirds, POV, and leading lines if I can.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Deontae Martin

    I think finding this picture will be more challenging than the other assignments. Use an object that frames a main object. Makes it so that the viewer’s eyes are pushes towards the picture inside of a picture.

    Like

    Reply
  9. peiod3-Alyssa mitchell

    Alyssa Mitchell
    Period 3
    3/ 2/ 2015

    Unusual Framing Device photographs

    To make an unusual framing photograph I will look for a different aspect, or different point of view to take the picture from. Maybe it doesn’t have to be a different point of view just a different perspective as to where someone wouldn’t unusually take a picture a from that place.

    Like

    Reply
  10. 5 robert meadors

    I will find my picture for this weeks assignment by using a square or circular shape to surrond my image i will use the focus tool to make my image stand out more

    Like

    Reply
  11. 5 logan Terry

    I think for this assignment you should look for an object that is worthy of framing but use a background or foreground as a frame within the picture showing some depth of field I can make a frame or just draw a frame on a surface and place an interesting object inside of it.

    Like

    Reply
  12. 5 Anthony Martinez

    To capture a creative/unusual framed photo im going to be 100% original. I feel that a lot of people are going to be using simpling framed photos like the hearts or circles with their fingers but to me that just isnt enough, its good but not for me. I’m going to hold myself to a high standard and show A+ work.

    Like

    Reply
  13. 5 Olivia Agard

    I really want to use a mirror. I could take a self-portrait of myself doing something really cool! I also think maybe using my ipod as a frame would be interesting. I can’t really decide on what I exactly want, but I have an idea of how I’m going to execute a really cool photograph. I often don’t really create a specific plan of what I will be doing. I really just look for things that look interesting to me.

    Like

    Reply
  14. Joshua Curtis

    I think the most obvious frame someone could use is a window, I was thinking about finding a window in the school and focusing on something outside. I also may use perspective, there’s lots of windows in the second story of the school so I could use one of those to get above whatever I’m photographing. check out drakes new mixtape.

    Like

    Reply
  15. 5 anna fedorova

    I will be taking photos or use ones for the weekend that turned out to be A frame all in itself.I should use the rule of thirds along with framing to make the image much interesting and possible to look through.

    Like

    Reply
  16. 5 Dennis Hozan

    The way I plan on creating unusual framing device photography for this week’s photography assignment is by looking at some of my older photos to get ideas of some framing options I could possible do. I’m also going to do a lot of looking through something to focus on the main object.

    Like

    Reply
  17. 5 Destany Grendahl

    I plan on finding objects either high up or low towards the ground and see if it’ll work as a frame. I’ll do my best to have it be a unique point of view or leading lines, if possible.

    Like

    Reply
  18. mehrija selava 5

    I plan on creating this week’s assignment of Unusual Framing Devices by taking a picture of a pair of shoes with a cut out shoe box framing the shoes and if i get the chance i would like to go to the waterfront and get the bridge in the backround

    Like

    Reply
  19. 5 Darius Davenport

    I plan on walking around the campus until something catches my eye, and I will use Photoshop to surround the picture with a frame and try to make it stand out more.

    Like

    Reply
  20. 5 gillian brockman

    I was thinking I could have a friend help me by making their hands into a heart shape and framing like a couple or flowers or something sweet to go along with the hear . Or I could go upstairs and use the railing (square things) and really focus on the railing and blur out the background. Or just go out and find something that I think will make a good frame for this assignment.

    Like

    Reply
  21. 5 Jocey Adams

    I plan on looking through a fence. The fence framing someone’s face or an open field. Another idea I have is someone making a heart around an object. I haven’t decided what to do for sure yet, I want to walk around the campus and find some other ideas.

    Like

    Reply
  22. 5. donavan brock

    I plan on trying to find something that stands out with trees acting as my frame of an image. Right now I’m thinking the track area has some nice trees that may work well for what I want to do. I also might trying using the trees by Saint Helens computer lab using trees as my frame and taking a picture of the cars in the parking lot.

    Like

    Reply
  23. 5 Tan Kieu

    Unusual Framing Devices:
    I think I will plan on using any framed things that I can see and use it to put something in it and use AVG mode to make the focus point.

    Like

    Reply
  24. Svetlana Karpyuk per.5

    In this week’s photo challenge I plan on focusing on main object while use leading lines to draw attention towards the main subject and include the negative space so that it’d be giving the image depth and layer. I want to observe objects that don’t make sense in where they are not supposed to be or are isolated from everything surrounding it. Kinda like placing an object into something opposite of it.

    Like

    Reply
  25. Vanessa Brown

    5 Vanessa Brown
    I plan to create and use framing devices by focusing on a subject through the outline of an object. This could be in the links of a gate, between blades of grass, and using my surroundings. I know of a cool walking tunnel in downtown that I could use. I will use what I’ve learned in class like rule thirds by placing my subject/object in the frame at one of the points of intersection.

    Like

    Reply
  26. 6 Samantha Abbe

    I plan to use some kind of weird object that I own to use a frame out of it or use some part of nature from one of my hikes to create a kind of frame around my center of focus. I have learned to be more creative in my pictures and how to create a better angle or use rule of thirds to add extra experience.

    Like

    Reply
  27. 6 Eric DeGante

    I plan to use a random object to frame on another random object for my unusual framing devise photograph.

    Like

    Reply
  28. 6 justin downs

    I hope to use unusual framing by using out of the ordinary tools to make a frame around the object of importance

    Like

    Reply
  29. 6 Noah Cruz

    What I plan to do is kinda use my hands as a frame and maybe for the background it could be a sunset or the blue sky.

    Like

    Reply
  30. 6 lacy clark

    Unusual Framing
    Boxing with someone’s fingers with the back round black and white but inside of the box is color of someone smileing.

    Like

    Reply
  31. 6 haley miller

    Unusual framing: for this assignment I will use what I learned with unique point of view and make a supper cool photo!!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  32. 6 Oscar Barajas

    I’m honestly not too sure how I’ll make frames. I’ll attempt to first find an interesting focal point and attempt to also contrast the focal object from the background, making it pop. I don’t know what to use, but I’ll figure it out.

    Like

    Reply
  33. Christian Lundin-Johnson Period 6

    I’m going to walk around and look at a variety of setting and see what spontaneously comes to mind as I see and look at things, and then take my unique frame picture.

    Like

    Reply
  34. gabriel combs

    Gabe
    Combs
    Per.6
    3/2/15
    For my project I plan on having my hands out as a frame and having the wolf in front of it.

    Like

    Reply
  35. 6 Daniel del Angel

    6 del angel,daniel
    I plan to use unusual framing by using leading lines and unusual framing with my hands and eye
    Im gonna use my hands as the frame and inside the frame is gonna be my eye ball

    Like

    Reply
  36. 6 Natalie Kolafa

    Natalie Kolafa
    Period 6

    For my unusual framing photo I plan to use an interesting point of view for an object that will work as a possible frame. I could use a chair or a table to frame something on the floor, or use a mirror.

    Like

    Reply
  37. Amanda Smith

    I plan to create an unusual framing device photograph by using mirrors and or arches. I want to use the mirror to frame a scenery or another photo of my choice. A window or sunglasses would also hold a cool perspective.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

